Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Although advancements in science and technology have had a beneficial impact on society. However, the same advancements, bring a multitude of new dilemmas and ethical qualms that— if left unaddressed— will cause more harm than good.

Authors, such as George Orwell, have warned about the potential danger of technological advancements as they can be used as a vehicle for malicious actions. For example, in Orwell's 1984, Orwell warns about the government's ability to use concealed microphones and telescreen— which resemble hidden cameras that are easily purchased today— as a means of surveillance and control over their citizens. Orwell highlights the use of technology as a tool that maintains the power of a totalitarian government and subdue it's citizens so that they live in a constant state of fear. In addition, the novel Fahrenheit 451 highlights the use of technology in a dystopian society that fosters a culture of escapism that can also be seen in society today. In the novel, Mildred relies upon her seashell ear-thimbles and parlor wall family to escape the world she lives in. As a result, she remains isolated in a manufactured world— unable to form authentic connections with individuals around her. Thus, these novels illustrate that advancements in science and technology do not solve societal problems, but instead, further propagate and create new problems for society.

However, developments in science and technology can help increase the quality of life in some cases. Advancements in medical care, such as new treatments that utilize sterilized Tilapia skin for healing the skin of burn victims, have greatly improved the healing time for these patients. Yet, these developments cannot solve the issue of helping all individuals access the healthcare they need. Moreover, new technology that is being developed can be used to further exploit individuals by controlling access to this technology. For example, although insulin is able to be made on a large scale through the use of microbes, there are many individuals living in the United States who are unable to purchase the Insulin they need to survive due to the inflated pricing of the drug. Thus, advancements in technology can offer new methods of treatment and increase the quality of life, but only to those who can afford to pay a premium to access them.