Science and technology will one day be able to solve all our society's problems.

Science and technology has become a part and parcel of our daily lives. Today's world is totally unimaginable without it. The human race has made a remarkable development, be it eradicating deadly diseases or getting things done in a touch of a button, life has become simplified and sophisticated at the same time. However, societal problems are not limited to the scope of science and technology.

Scientific reasearch and development can progress in such a way that man can increase his longevity and life expectancy rate. Technology can give a hand in solving day to day physical problems faced by humans. Nevertheless, problems like communal tensions, relationship problems, familial institutions, etc will always remain outside its scope. Consider that a husband and wife who have two children want to get a divorce, science and technology can do nothing in the interest of the two kids to resolve their situation. Another case is where the communal riots happen between christians and muslims. Caste tensions are instigated often in vaious regions of the world for which science or technology has got nothing to offer.

Whenever an earthquake or tsunami is about to occur, science and technology can barge in by predicting the mishap and give timely warning thereby saving thousands of lives. Nonetheless, the destruction caused by such a catastrophic event leads to the loss of several livelihoods which is out of the scope of science or technology. In such instances only the advise of our ancestors might work well. We need to learn a lot from historical events in such cases.

Science and technology is sure to be credited for the good quality of food we eat today, but who is to be blamed for the unsustainable resources we have put in for that? We have developed a lot of architecture, for both living space and recreational/entertainment activities, but who is to be blamed for the loss of green cover we have sacrificed for that? We have used our water resources for varied purposes with technological advancement including but not restricted to generated electricity, but who is to be blamed for the dried up lands which were once cleanest and primary source of drinking?

Until the last tree has died, the last river is dried and the last fish is fried, man cannot eat money. So it is our responsibility to be wise and limit the use of science and technology which comes at a cost of our resources. Therefore, we should not see science and technology as a panacea to our problems. We have to make development in a sustainable way and be in a win-win situation.