The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

“The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.”. I disagree with this statement.

The main goal of a nation, and its sole reason for existence indeed is to ensure the welfare of it’s citizens. However, the welfare of the people alone is not a sole indicator of a nation’s greatness. Take for example the nation of Bhutan. It has the highest levels of happiness in the world, according to several surveys and studies. As amazing as a nation Bhutan is, one would hardly call it ‘great’. It has minimal influence outside of its borders, with an almost non-existent ability to project cultural, economic, or military power.

Adding to that, it can be fair to say that great rulers produce times of stability and increased prosperity. This stability and prosperity that has been afforded is in the welfare of the people, and people living under such conditions will have additional time, resources and incentives to produce great art or engage in path breaking science. This sums up the United State’s absolute global domination on the sciences. A relatively prosperous population along with prudent policymaking and access to great education has over time fostered a culture geared towards innovation and entrepreneurship. This could also explain the authority that western Europe holds on art. Decades of prosperity have given the people time to appreciate things beyond that which will guarantee short term survival. This, unfortunately, is a luxury not afforded to all nations.

The average person from a nation torn up under decades of civil wars, or rapacious and pervasive corruption, with limited to no access to public services, living hand to mouth, will have no time for science or art. His or her main concern will be to ensure a steady source of food and income.

Thus, a great nation most certainly will seriously take into account the welfare of its people. However, people living in such a nation will contribute heavily to the sciences and arts and will produce cultures and mechanisms where competent future rulers can rise above the others. Thus, the end result of a great nation, its legacy left behind in science, art and history, is an excellent way to judge its greatness, or lack thereof.