Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Undergraduate students majoring in Business or Sciences should be required to take any courses in Humanities since those courses would benefit in their future careers.

Although the humanities courses are not related to the core field of students but they will would highly helpful for freshers to flourish in their careers. I personally took a course on Effective Public Speaking in my undergraduate, I can feel a huge difference in my communication skills before and after completing the course. According to a survey by Times of India employs with great communication and public speaking skills have 70% more chances of growing in their career than their collegues.

Along with the development of communication skills, humanities courses can also help in developing good reading habit and gives a different perception to see any literature. While reading a novel or any book might sound ineffective to students of Science and Bussiness but reading good books can help in a long run to solve the life problems. Infact there are some new startups who are coming up with a concept of giving a small break in between the work hours to their employs to read books not related to their work from the library maintained in the office.

People might think studying these humanity courses a waste of time which can be utilized in studying their core field, but in todays era where market is become more and more competitive, companies don't just require employs who are technically sound for the role but an overall package who has great communication skills, able to perform in pressure and able to come up with a solution along with the knowledge of core. So, studying these humanity courses should be considered an investment rather than a waste of time.

So I would conclude by establishing the fact that undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should be takinig courses in the Humanities since these courses would benefit their future careers.