Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

As the well know saying goes "History repeats itself", the past has a habbit of recurring. Hence a through understanding of the past will be a significant advantange to those in current positions of leadership for planning.

An understanding of past events could prove to be crucial for future as they bring forth the knowledge which was perviously unknown. Gorvenments analysing the past disaster responses and their shortcomings can formulate new disaster response strategies are more effective. In all these scenarios the knowledge about the past is crucial to make decisions.

Furthur the past events can help the leaderships to get context for current situations. Taking the example of feminism, the goverment needs to understand the past plight of women, to make informed decisions and policies regarding gender equality. Same applies to racial equality. Without the context from past events, the government would not be able to understant why the current sitution exixsts and what steps it should take to assauge it.

Though a point could be made for situations or events which has not taken place before. Like the dawn of social media. Never before was there a time when people across the globe were so inter-connected and the flow of information was so seemless. To tackle the problems arising from this new era, fake news etc, the past cannot provide any effective insight.

The past provides a great opprtuinity to learn. It can help the leadership to better understand the shortcomming of past events or get context about why the current situtaion exists.