Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

This reminds me of a quote, "History is a guide to navigate through perilious times. History is who we are and why we are the way we are." Hence, past is the guiding light for anyone who is faced with a decision in present, and their reactions, thinking and decisions in those times will determine their future. Therefore, understanding the past is really important and holds the key to unlocking any dillemas of the present.

Knowing the history is even more important for people in leadership positions; be it human history, social history or history related to a very specific issue they are facing. Since, the past teaches us lessons about what our predecessors faced, how they dealt with it and what were the results. We often face small or big choices in our daily life and our previous interactions, historical knowledge etc. enables us to decide on which path to adapt in the said situation. Similarly for people in leadersip roles, whether on a global level or in a very small familial units must know about the past to lead themselves and their followers into the future.

Life, like science, gives us experimental choices and whatever we choose at certain point has a multifold impact in future. Hence, if one has historical knowledge and knows of similar instances in the past, they are able to make better decisions in view of the same and get better results.

Leaders are not only responsible for themselves, but several other people, based on their span of control. Therefore, with this added responsibility, they should be more knowledgeable than an ordinary person and should seek guidance from relevant quarters like literature, history, wise counsels etc. This enables them to make informed decisions and decrease the chance of failure.

On the otherhand, the presumption in prompt that knowledge of past is not very useful for current leaders may seem valid to charismatic leaders, who think that they can tackle any situation in a whim, without considering the past or any other relevant facts based on their intelligence. This strategy may succeed partly, but for a larger sample this may result in sudden shifts in strategy, especially when a decision goes awry. Thinking on the go is a tough task and makes a leader's job unpredictable and dodgy. Repeated shifts may result in people losing confidence in their leaders and accordingly making their lives tougher.

Therefore, in my opinion one cannot understate importance of knowledge of history for leaders whether they are in any walk of life, be it politics, bueraucracy, military, business and so forth. Knowing the past is key to unlocking a better future.