Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

I do not agree that there is no use of past for those in current positions of leader ship.

Leadership quality is an important ability of human. A leadear shows the opportunity that is coming ahead. A leadear also embraces the difficulties that falls on the way of his or her journey and finds a way out to overcome these difficulties. A leader also finds the hidden ability from his or her follower.

To become a great leader, past has a great impact. Through the turmoils of past, a leader molds himself. Analyzing the past occurances a leader decides what to do or what not to do. A succesful decison makes him or her a great leader. But a succesful decision or wise decision comes through previous experiances from the past. Suppose, a leader comes across a difficult problem. He or she then maps the encountered problem with previous experiances he or she has experianced. Then analyzing every persepective, he comes up with a solution to overcome the encountered problem.

For example the the father of the nation of bangladesh, he gifted bangladesh with independence. By responsing his call for war, people jumped out for participating in war. He has the immense capability to influence people and taking the right decison. This power of taking right decision have come with experiance. Before becoming the father of the nation, he has the 30 years of political past. Had he not used his political past the would not be able to take the right decision and influence people to participate in war. Every great leader has used past to practice a great leadearship.

Without using the past the people who are in current position of leadership would not be able to lead people and take right decision. If any leader do not use past then there is a very little chance that he will be a great leader.

Through the ups and downs of the past, a leader becomes a great leader. So I must say that there is great use of past for those who are in current position of leadership.