Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memoradan of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that their reduction in views of programs is solely due to the deviod of proper advertisement. In coming to this conclusion the advertising director made some unstated assumptions. Without enough evidence, these assumptions may not hold water and thus the conclusion becomes unwarranted. Three of the major unstated assumptions are discussed in brief and by showing evidence for such assumptions, the advertising director can state an even more strong conclusion.

Firstly, the advertising director stated that the percentage of positive reviews is compareable to the quality of the movies. But he didn't give any evidence about the review count. Perhaps, only a meagre number of people reviewed the movie and nearly all of them gave high reviews. Surely this does not represent the whole majority of the population. And in fact it seems to be the case for this Super Screen movie procudtion company. Due to less viewers, the amount of reviewers is also low. Although the positive reviews increased over the years, the amount of reviews also dwindled resulting from less viewers. Thus, before coming to the conclusion about the movie review, the advertising director should also state the review count trend over the years.

Secondly, advertising director's conjecture about the quality of the movies may be fallacious. Just by depending on the positive reviews, he made the conclusion that the movies are of great quality. But to determine a movie's quality, critc's response about the movie are of course needed. Without giving any evidence relating critics reviews and just by determining the positive review percentage, the movie cannot be concluded as better quality. It may be even possible that, the main reason for diminishing viewers is due to the decreasing quality over the years and such more and stronger evidence is needed to ensure that the quality of the movies are properly maintained.

Lastly, the advertising director made the assumption that the current advertising is not enough to reach the public. This is also on the basis of the conjecture over just the positive reviews. Perhaps the news about the movies are reaching the intended viewers but due to other reasons such as movie quality, a change in content of people's penchant for such movies, etc. may be the cause of less viewers. Yes, advertising helps increase the viewer of such movies. But people are not entitled to view them if the content of the movies is not what the general people are looking for. People's taste change over time. Thus, it is completly normal for the people to view the content of the movie as obsolete even if it retains the original quality. Thus, further evidence about people's penchant for movie originality is needed and proper evaluation of advertisement can help ensueing a stronger conclusion.

From the above stated statements, we can see that the advertising director's assumption about the quality, the reviews of the movies, and the requirement of more advertisement is based on incomplete evidence. More evidence is needed stating the quality of the movies, target viewers predilection of such movies, and the number of reviews of each movies. Thus a warrented conclusion can be made and properly state which section of the program need to be re-evaluated.