Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Whether young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition could be weight in many aspects. However, the argument is based on generalization. The statement simply assumes that all realistic goals are suitable for young people, but in reality, most of the realistic goals are not. Moreover, it is presumptuous to suggest that realistic goals are benefited to young people. Factor other than realistic goals is also responsible for an ideal result.

Admittedly, the speaker’s claim might appear to have considerable merit. After all, realistic goals could be an obvious objective. Yet the speaker fails to provide a clear litmus test for measuring which realistic goals should be encouraged to pursue young people. When we speak of “ realistic goals.” the following comes to mind: most realistic goals are not defined by young people but by parents. For example, most parents overly believe what objective is realistic even though it is not suitable for their children. Thus, to determine the prerequisites of realistic goals, it is necessary to examine which realistic goals are suitable for young people.

It is justifiable to take realistic goals which parents believe into account, and we can find the statement problematic. In China and Taiwan education system, most parents overly define which discipline are worthy and then ask their children to apply, while in America, most parents don’t interfere in children’s decision. The number of Nobel prize winners illustrates this point clearly. The number of Nobel prize winner in China and Taiwan is only 3, but in America is 366.

Thus, the realistic goals which most China and Taiwanese parents believe are not suitable for young people completely.

Moreover, the speaker unfairly assumes that realistic goals are benefited for young people. However, I reckon young people should pursue personal interest other than realistic goals, even though they just want to seek immediate fame and recognition. For instance, children engage in what they want over and over again, because it is suitable for them and they want to seek sense of accomplishment in a group. But in the end, maybe these interests are helpful to society. Therefore, young people should not be encouraged to pursue realistic, long-term goals overly.

In summary, this claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although realistic goals are obvious objectives, these are not suitable for young people. We should encourage young people to pursue personal interest other than realistic goals, even though they want to seek immediate fame and recognition.