Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author contends that, youngsters should have a long-term realistic goal rather than having to seek immediate fame. In my opinion, I partially agree with the author, for the following three reasons.

To begin with, change is permanent in the society and is inevitable. Thus, it is crucial for people to adapt to the change. If there is fame one day, it might disappear the next day, so nothing is certain. But if a person is specialised in a particular field, he can create his own opportunity by building a business or start up. For instance, if a student has a goal to become a chip manufacturer in the future, he would specialise in chip designing. But what about the job opportunities for chip manufacture? Opportunities are everywhere and maybe he can create his own opportunity by creating his own company. For example, China is known for its chip manufacturing companies where as India is known for its agriculture and South Korea is known for its music industry. Thus, long term goal will provide a stable life and would be hard to get knocked down by future trends.

Also, those people who have a particular goal need not worry about the fame because media will definitely seek people who are talented and hard working. For example, in the field of music, idols are supposed to be trainees for at least 2 years. There are trainees who trained for about 17 years before reaching fame. For instance, let’s consider the kpop boy band BTS, which broke worldwide records and are adored by their fans. The members of BTS were trainees for about 3 years before debuting. While they received criticism at first, now they are known all around the world. It is their true determination and hard work which paved their way towards fame and success. Thus, fame can be achieved by having a long term goal too.

However, there are also young people who came into fame and made their talent into a long term goal. For example, Justin Bieber, an American singer, had a talent of singing, so his mother posted a video of him singing in social media which gained many fans for him. Thus, he made singing as his long term goal while improving alongside fame. From the above example it is clear that fame gave a passion and interest towards his music. Hence, immediate fame can also be a good decision.

In conclusion, youngsters who have determination can achieve anything even if it is fame or long time goal. So, it is not our position to force youngsters; therefore, it is in youngsters hands whether to wait or to immediately spread their wings and fly.