Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. Do u agree or disagree?

Living in the information age, people are bombarded with substantial daily doses of advertising via multiple media. The argument that advertising, with its overwhelming power, leads to consumer’s impulsive purchase has been accepted by more and more people. Consumers are encouraged by advertisements to purchase products in quantity without paying quality. From my opinion, I do not completely agree with this.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the advertising has an impact on sales of products. Firstly, those well-designed advertisements are more likely to attract people’s attention so as to encourage them to purchase products. For example, some long-established chicken and hamburger brands such as KFC and Mc Donald are pretty good in creating persuasive advertisements, such as combo for two or three people will have a free ticket for beverages to persuade people to purchase a large number of products.

Moreover, due to people’s interests and preferences, in most cases, usually buy products based on their own emotions and public’s latest trendy. Take some well-known fashion brands such as H&M, Guici, Levis and so forth as an example, no matter the quality is good or bad, people choose products from those brands due to its trademark and prevalent advertisements around the world. Therefore, it can be sure that to some considerable extent, advertising, from time to time, entices costumers to buy products in quantity.

On the other hand, however, advertising still brings people a huge amount of information of products. In other words, people are easily catch the quality of them before buying something. For instance, in terms of food industry, through advertisements, people are able to compare between a variety of products and distinguish some inferior products from quality ones. In fact, a large number of fake goods and products being sold on a large scale in the daily life, especially milk, meat, and some types of nutriments are not realized by customers. however, by getting access to advertisements, they are allowed to buy quality products.