Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

With the aid of a multitude of modern technologies, distance learning and working is becoming increasingly ubiquitous among workers and pupils. From a personal point of view, this development is unworthy of support regarding its shortcomings.

First and foremost, working from home can compromise the productivity of workers. With the informal atmosphere of their accommodation, adults are easily distracted from their work by outward interruptions. To exemplify this argument, adults with small children struggle to keep up with their office work as they simultaneously have to deal with the gruelling task of taking care of their offspring. Hence, working from home can potentially do harm to the productivity of white-collar workers.

Another disadvantage of this particular trend is that it stifles the development of young children's social skills. Schools with conventional classroom settings play a central role in promoting interactions and aiding the establishment of relationships among kids. Opting for distance learning blocks this development as children are bound to experience difficulties in making friends, given the limited communication among them. For example, students in America suffer from numerous anxieties when studying online in long periods as they are separated from their peers and teachers. Therefore, studying from home is detrimental to the socialisation of children.

Taking everything into consideration, it is apparent that working and studying from home does more harm than good to adults as well as children. The issues stemming from distance learning and working ought to be addressed and conventional working places and schools remain the optimum choice of the people.