Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is widely believed that thanks to revolutionary advancements in technology humans now can reach substantial resources which provide them with numerous options and opportunities in their lives. Nevertheless, not everyone in every class of society can attain such diverse options therefore I only partly agree with that belief

Firstly, it is undeniable that more choices will enhance greater convenience for humans. Take Vietnam in the 20th century as an example, Vietnamese people did not have sustainable food, therefore, their options were only a little rice or corn with salt for seasoning, maybe some fish were added to a little more wealthy family. Consequently, the lack of food had led to the lack of nutrients and balance. In comparison to nowadays living conditions, Vietnamese have more choices in their meals such as fish, chickens, and many nutritious vegetables which provide the energy to create productivity. Not only in food that people have diverse options, in terms of gadgets, electronics, thanks to foreign trade but huge amounts of brands and diverse functions also enable customers to have more options which they consider to suit their finances and demand.

On the contrary, putting the developed countries in comparison with undeveloped countries, it can be spotted the unequal distribution of technology which contributes a large proportion in creating options and raising humans’ standard of life. Many undeveloped countries are lacking basic needs like food, clean water, healthy service, and financial resources. As a result, people in these countries are not able to avail their fundamental human rights. Take the Covid-19 pandemic as an example, shortage in oxygen is a common title in every newspaper recently. Moreover, undeveloped countries are not able to provide vaccines to their civilians which has caused the escalation in new positive cases daily. Consequently, medical service is on the edge of collapse. Medical staff have to choose who has a higher chance of surviving, will be able to attain the ventilator.

In conclusion, indeed, we are now living in an era that has plenty of choices to enjoy our lives. However, each individual lives in different conditions, which means to some people many choices are out of reach.