Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Due to the fact that same goods can be purchased anywhere globally, the similarity among nations is increasing considerably. I believe it is a negative trend that countries are becoming less different. For one thing, it brings loss of cultural diversity and, for another, it could also be detrimental to the travel industry.

Every single country has its own identity, history and culture, so becoming similar to other countries would be removed all these kinds of things. To illustrate, in a number of provinces of my country we have some locally clothes which are rooted in our culture. yet, many Iranians prefer to shop for fashionable clothes from high-end transnational stores rather than to buy clothes from stores that sell locally products. Therefore, in the future local dress are disappeared even means that the next generation will not know what their grandparents wear. As a result of that, the identity of the country would be faded.

In addition, countries becoming more alike could affect the tourism sector. Many people desire to pay a visit to another place to gain unique experience. For example, Indian food is most attractive to international tourists ,However, now Indian restaurants can be found all over the world, which means people no longer need to fly to India to have a taste of real Indian food. This could result in a decrease in the number of foreign visitors to that country.

In conclusion, I believe it is a full of drawbacks trend that countries are becoming less different.