Describe some ways in which mankind is harming the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individuals do?

There is an ugly truth that human beings are devastating the environment but we can take steps towards the protection of the environment. This essay will suggest the measures that could be taken by governments and individuals to address these urgent problems.

There are numerous ways in which humans are harming the environment. People cause air pollution by making cars their main means of transportation. Consequently, the more cars are used, the more carbon dioxide is produced. Factories are also the primary polluters by producing a great amount of chemical waste. In addition, many individuals dump garbage in inappropriate places, such as the river. As a result, their reckless actions make the rivers or the lakes contaminated places to live for fish and other river inhabitants, eventually killing them.

The governments can solve these problems in many ways. One of them is to introduce various environmental laws and regulations and impose heavy punishment on those who pollute the environment. For example, they can increase the fine for the amount of industrial waste and carbon dioxide released by factories. Apart from the government, individuals can also take several actions to protect their surrounding area. Firstly, they should use public transport more than their private vehicles to reduce car fumes. Secondly, people need to use environmentally-friendly products, which have reuse and recycle characteristics. For instance, they can use paper or cloth bags while shopping instead of plastic bags. By following this step, individuals can gradually reduce their household waste.

In conclusion, people are damaging the environment but we can take responsibility for these growing issues. Governments and individuals could certainly implement a range of measures to reduce the disastrous effects we have on the environment.