Fewer young people choose to work in farming. What are the reasons?

Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

There is no denying that agriculture is one of the major aspects of most nations. In light of this, a decrease in young people choosing to work in farming has become a topic of general interest among citizens. Although this is because of the deficiency of economic opportunities, I believe the young still should be encouraged to work in the farming field.

There are some reasons why many more young people refuse to do farming work. This is because they are not provided with financial prosperity. In a knowledge-based society, new generations tend to bias non-manual affairs and avoid labour works to their best possibility. Besides that, the farming field does not have a ladder structure which facilitates people to have a higher position and changes in life, so they hardly ever made a jump to enhance their living standards. In addition, farming works are usually in rural areas for vast space for fields and planting, so the environment might be less vivid compared to urban areas. Therefore, it does not fit the majority of young people’s preferences.

In my opinion, there is still a need to encourage young people to do farming work. This is because the young are the energetic and creative labour force to boost the national economy. Besides providing food sources for the citizens’ consumption, agricultural products are also potential export goods to the international market to cooperate, connect and exchange. With their constant approach to new trends of the modern day, young people can develop many outstanding campaigns.

In conclusion, the fall of young people deciding to work in farming can be explained by the scarce chances of improving their living conditions and preferences. In front of this, they should be encouraged to participate in farming work with potential financial promises for the country.