Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

There has been a significant decline in the number of young people engaging in farming work. This essay will show the reasons behind this trend and why young people should be motivated for working in this field.

Young people becoming unwilling to work in the agriculture industry can be explained as follows. The first reason is that because of the development gap between urban and rural areas, young people tend to stay in big cities after graduation from university to find job opportunities. Big cities are the center of development in the culture and economy of nations, where are a concentration of large companies with various fields while the countrysides are less developed. This leads to a shortage of labor in the countryside, especially in the agriculture industry. Another reason is that jobs that relate to farming are seen as manual work and bring a low wage, so the number of students choosing to study agriculture accounts for a lower percentage than other majorities. This has an adverse impact on the agriculture industry causing a serious dearth of human resources in this field. In Vietnam, for example, according to the statistics, only 2% of students enroll in agriculture every year, although Vietnam is a country that is strongly about agriculture.

Young people should be encouraged and facilitated to do farming work. Firstly, farming jobs require a great deal of manpower to keep up with the currently increasing food demand. A shortage of personnel can reduce productivity in the agricultural industry, and the expansion of the national food supply can be fallen dramatically. As a result, the nation may face a domestic food crisis. Furthermore, farming work can be a vocational pathway for young people. It provides them with practical skills such as using heavy machinery and planting crops, as well as soft skills such as task management, organizational, and communication skills. That way, young people can learn to be more resourceful and responsible in a professional setting.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the decline in young people working in agriculture. Therefore, they should be encouraged to work in that sector to respond to its manpower demand.