In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

It is argued that bus, car and truck drivers will no longer be needed in the future, therefore travellers are predicted to be the only people commuting inside these traffics. Although this trend may offer some advantages, I believe that they are eclipsed by demerits.

To begin with, I think an increase in automatic transportation would reduce a large number of employment opportunities. Particularly, there are dozens of people making a living by driving and many of them are their family’s breadwinner, so if they are replaced by technology, they may have difficulties looking for a new job. Take a train driver as an example, his employment involves working with engines or controlling a vehicle, then he would have few chances to find a job requiring these skills when almost all vehicles are driverless. As a consequence, a great number of drivers is predicted to be unemployed at a later time.

However, some people still claim that the benefits of non-driver transports outweigh those drawbacks since they are safer than vehicles controlled by humans. They may think that there will be no drunk or drowsy driver who brings about accidents. But, I personally believe that people could not ensure the safety of an automatic transport. To be specific, preprogrammed softwares and artificial intelligence could not react to unexpected situations as well as humans. For example, a few years ago, a self-driving Tesla car collided with a tree and caused the death of two passengers because it failed to navigate a turn. Meanwhile, drivers are trained to be willing to face many scenarios. Clearly, transportation controlled by humans may have a higher level of safety compared to driverless vehicles.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages to self-driving traffic, I am of the view that these benefits can not overshadow the disadvantages including a decrease in job chances and a lower level of safety.