In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of technology, there are many ways that people can choose to read. It has become increasingly prevalent for individuals to engage in reading either through digital platforms or traditional paper-based mediums. While some people prefer to read printed newspapers or books, I firmly believe that an escalating number of individuals are gravitating towards online reading as opposed to purchasing printed materials.

There are three reasons why fewer and fewer people purchase printed newspapers or books. Firstly, the high cost of printed books means that only a select few can afford them, which means that do not have the opportunity to learn more knowledge. For example, in the ancient time, only the nobility could read printed books because it is so expensive that poor people cannot buy. Secondly, it is inconvenient for people to carry the printed newspapers or books when they go outside or travel. Some masterworks are so heavy that people cannot carry out and just read it at a single, fixed location, which is limited the chance of people exchange their opinion. Thirdly, printed newspapers or books can exacerbate environmental issues. This is because many printed material use wood and water to make it, which means that the tree will be cut and use lots of water, thereby increasing pollution problems and damaging our environment.

I believe that more and more people will choose to read online. It is clear a plethora of books and news articles are available for free online, which means that everyone has the chance to get more knowledge and change their life, thereby making our society fairer. Meanwhile, reading online offers unparalleled. We can use mobile phone to read all the thing we want in at all times and in all places, which means that we can share our opinion with our friends or other people. It can improve the information communication. Moreover, e-books or online news is more environmental-friendly. This is because digital newspapers or books make from plastic, steel and other materials but not wood, which means that fewer trees will cut in the future, thereby protecting our environment.

In conclusion, I think more and more people choose to read online instead of buying printed newspapers or books in the future.