Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

The increase in the Earth’s temperature is posing dramatic threats to human life, thus worrying governments all over the world. This essay will address some major reasons for this environmental problem and propose possible solutions.

According to many researchers, global warming nowadays is not a natural process, instead, it is mainly caused by human activities. Firstly, the utilisation of fossil fumes and numerous agricultural practices have released an unprecedented amount of detrimental emissions, which facilitates excessive greenhouse effects. Particularly, the combustion of fossil fumes to serve massive productions in factories and transportation needs has emitted tons of hazardous chemicals. Meanwhile, methane produced by cattle and vehicles used in agriculture constitutes a large proportion of greenhouse gases. These explain why the most industrialized countries like China, India and the US are also the nations with high levels of rising temperatures. Moreover, another contributor to this environmental issue is the over-cutting of trees to create spaces for the increasing population on Earth. Consequently, the balance between oxygen and carbon dioxide, an important element in conserving the natural temperature of the Earth, has been disturbed as trees produce a huge percentage of oxygen on Earth and help reduce the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere.

However, there are several measures for human beings to tackle this issue. For governments, the application of strict policies to limit the carbon emissions of industrial plants and introduce benefits for vehicles running on green energy have proven their effectiveness in many nations. For instance, in China, thanks to preferential rights offered by the authority to electric-car-manufacturing companies, there is now a tendency to replace traditional cars with electric ones in many metropolitans. Besides, each people could minimize the amount of meat they consume and plant more trees, thus reducing the number of cattle raised and creating more oxygen. Finally, a redesign of living areas to utilize all available spaces so that fewer trees would be chopped down for accommodations might be considered by engineers. For example, if The Line - a city planned by the Arab Saudi government was successfully constructed, it could be home to over 9 million residents with a total square of just 34 km2, therefore, no forest would be destroyed for the construction plan.

In conclusion, although humans have contributed enormously to global warming through their production and transportation activities, they could also solve this worldwide problem by taking proper measures.