impacts on tourism

It is beyond doubt that the accelerating development of technology and equipment has brought about significant changes in the community, which includes cheaper airlines to enhance the life quality; thus, individuals can travel abroad more easily. From my perspective, this tendency can have both merits and drawbacks on the countries visited.

On the one hand, the increasing number of people visiting tourist sites can derive benefits to the countries. Obviously, it can make the attractions more popular, providing higher income for the locals and those who possess the tourist accommodation and services. Moreover, this trend also fosters the development of the tourism industry and economy in the countries tremendously since people are encouraged more to take advantage of low-price transportation, namely planes which was only afforded by the extravagant. As a consequence of tourism improvement, there will be more job prospects for the locals, especially the rural ones. For instance, in Quang Ninh Province, Viet Nam, dwellers located on the islands rely mostly on visitors to make their livelihood. Thus, it is the tourism industry that gains a lot thanks to the low-cost airline.

On the other hand, the excessive number of tourists coming to certain destinations can exert innumerable devastating impacts on the environment. Evidently, an influx of holiday-makers will increase the usage of transportation, which releases more greenhouse gas emission, leading to the ozone-layer depletion and air pollution. In addition, it is the visitors who do not foster awareness about the environmental protection that can exacerbate the alarming issue by throwing garbage on the tourist attractions, ruining its beauty and attributing to soil degradation. Moreover, the construction of accommodation and services, namely restaurants, has led to deforestation, causing many animals to become homeless. For instance, in Viet Nam, there have been lots of buildings, resorts and food stalls built in the protected forest or pristine beach in order to maximize their profits without any consideration towards the contamination and its detrimental consequences.

In conclusion, even though lower-cost airline has facilitated our lives on individual and societal level, there still have been significant devastating results that the governments should take viable measure to address.