Increase the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, air pollution and greenhouse gas emission are increasing, so some people think the cost of petrol should be increased to solve the traffic and pollution problems. In my opinion, improving public transport is another effective solution to these problems.

It is believed that increasing petrol’ price is the best way because if its price were higher, people would consider using private transportation when they go out. However, increasing the cost of petrol may cause to the development in the price of others. Therefore, when petrol’ cost increase, stuffs become more expensive, so human’ life would be worse. That results in many other problems in society.

Meanwhile, developing public transport systems make people more interested in using it. For instance, in my town, the bus system was improved so there are more people take the bus rather than before. It contributes to decline the greenhouse gas emission and the number of vehicles. Moreover, the development of a country depends on its finance, technology, military and transport systems. Transportation plays an important role in delivering goods and passengers, so the nation improves the transport systems, which can earn a large amount of money. However, the disadvantage of this solution is it takes a big financial capital to develop the transport system.

In conclusion, both solutions have advantages and disadvantages. As for me, I believe improving public transport is a more effective way because it doesn’t cause to other problems and it has more meanings to national development