It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

Living away from parents is more and more popular when children who completed high school programs enter higher education and there has been a topic of debate whether it is better for students to live independently away from their family whilst studying at university. In my view, I believe that students should choose to board at school or rent a room off-campus due to two major benefits: nurturing personal growth and expanding the social circle.

University attenders live away from their parents. When staying alone they will have to do housework by themselves such as cleaning and doing laundry. Meanwhile, those living dormitory accommodation have to do everything with complete voluntary spirit. This enhances their sense of responsibility and encourages personal growth. For example, A large majority of students seek temporary employments near their university to earn money or gain valuable work experience, while others spend time participating in college clubs and activities on campus. This element, I believe, is closely linked to their further development and future success.

Another benefit of boarding at school is the opportunities to expand the social network. Living under the same roof with hundreds of other students allow students to socialize easily. Brief encounters in the hall, group study sessions at the common room, camping weekends etc. are all excellent chances to make friends, which helps with the quick successful adaptation to college life. A recent study of UCLA’s Social Sciences Department shows that students who live at dorms are more likely to be beneficial from networking later in life than those who live with parents during college years.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that having an independent life is better for undergraduates since considerable advantages for their future when entering adulthood.