It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it's frequent for students to take a gap year after graduating from high school to do common practice such as work or travel. Taking a gap year and doing something different for studying changes a person's mindset. This essay will firstly, discuss the advantages of suspension studying and doing something else and secondly, the disadvantages of this decision.

Recently, students have been contemplating taking time out from studying and work or travel, especially after they finished high school. Honestly, they are right because, when they work at a young age, they'll gain many skills and experiences also, that will develop their mind. For example, they will practice how to work under pressure and they learn how to deal with different types of people. All of that will make them experts in critical thinking and problem-solving. Some students prefer travelling rather than work because they just want to take a break to enjoy and do some awesome activities. There are a lot of students who do that as Harvard University researchers discover there are up to 40 percent of students who are seriously considered to take a gap year and travel. There are many benefits to that, the important one is that they will learn about new people, culture and maybe, they will discover a new side of themselves. As a result, all of this helps them to find their passion which makes them more qualified for choosing the right major in college so, there are a lot of advantages to doing that.

Otherwise, there are many disadvantages of taking a gap year and travel or work even. Firstly, students who decide to do that will graduate late from university and maybe, they prefer work or travel rather than education which will make a huge problem in society. Because, Academic education is necessary to achieve success and progress in any field. For instance, if a company advertises for a high position job opportunity and there is a two-person application for this job it will choose who has high qualifications and good degrees in the university. On the other hand, students who take a break will face numerous bullying and annoyances from others who don't understand them. Also, if they don't have a plan for what they actually want to do in this gap year they will lose much time.

In conclusion, students should think deeply about what they obviously need to do in their lives and collect their parents, teachers' tips then go away for their own experience. Moreover, they have to set a target to reach and don't waste time.