It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In today’s modernised world few students are preferring to take a leap year after attending high school in pursuit to roam a job. Although many people now see it as dangerous, it still has its faithful supporters. In this essay, we shall look at both sides of this coin.

To begin with, globalisation has intrigued the young generation to earn in the early stage of their life so as to fulfil myriad of dreams they have which can not be accomplish without an extra amount of money in their hands. Furthermore, many are of the view opting to work directly after school that give them an upper hand when looking for a post that is available in the market. For instance, a restaurant is hiring new staff members and people apply for the same but here the company will hire people who are in their youths and have the zeal to meet the targets in comparison to an older person. Hence, numerous reasons turn up to make it a beneficial decision.

By contrast, the disadvantage of going on a vacation, and not seeking university admission immediately after graduating from high school might decrease the chance of getting an admit for students.

This is because the universities assume that an individual would forget the fundamental concepts which they have learnt in previous years at school if they would have a gap-year in their resume.

For instance, they might score fewer marks in their undergraduate level exams, thereby, tarnishing the reputation of the institution. Therefore, it is said that it is prudent to take an admit promptly after completing twelfth grade.

To conclude, I would say that taking a year gap after schooling is one’s personal choice and every person needs and desires are different from others. So, it is good to follow one’s heart and do what he feels like doing rather than following others, and I think in my view, benefits outweighed the deficient.