It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whilst some believe that the quality of a child's performance in a subject indicates whether they are talented, I think that skills, such as a sport or music, are acquisitive, and dividing children into talented and untalented is not fair.

On the one hand, there is a conventional assumption that children are born with talents. This is because it is often observed that some children carry better performance at school than others, so their parents and teachers may conclude that he/she has a genuine talent. This statement stems from the fact that a certain child has not had any special training. Therefore, acting in an educated way indicates some kind of pure talent. For instance, a teacher astonished by a five-year-old understanding of music and rhyme implies an exceptional aptitude.

However, it is true that different skills can be fostered, and not everything is about talent. This proves that children learn about their abilities and how to improve them through education. This can be achieved by passionate, thoughtful teachers who put a great amount of effort into training their students. In my opinion, each skill requires a set of techniques to be done that can be acquired. Hence, grouping children into genius and ingenious is discriminative and offensive. For example, a child who was born into a wealthy family has various opportunities to learn about different subjects. In contrast, one might not be able to afford to provide all sorts of education for their child.

In conclusion, although some argue that people are born with certain gifts, I assume that it is dishonest to segregate gifted children from others as skills are attainable by accurate training and caring teachers.

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is true that children should be warned about right and wrong from childhood. However, in my opinion, parents should avoid punishment since it may cause emotional harm to children, and in case of necessity, adults should carefully observe the language they are using to criticize their children.

In order to teach the younger ones to be thoughtful about their behavior, punishment is not essential and would be better dismissed. This is because punishments have a detrimental impact on a child's self-confidence. Generally, most of the means of correction include offensive language or physical attacks. As a result, they directly point at the child's dignity and pride. For instance, parents normally accuse their children of not being nice and honest when disobeying them. In addition, awards and prices are practical enough to make parents needless of blaming and punishing their kids. This stems from the fact that the younger ones usually tend to get praised and encouraged for behaving in an acceptable manner, and that is just sufficient to motivate them to avoid the wrong. A healthy rivalry at school could be taken as an example.

However, some may argue that occasionally, it is crucial to punish children for what they have done wrong. In this case, it is essential to consider the sort of punishment. To illustrate the point, adults can go on with verbal blaming rather than physical punishment, which is told in a lower voice, talking calmly about the specific subject and not generalizing. Parents who criticize their kids with gentle language in their privacy are proof of this. Accordingly, verbal punishment that is accurately done does not cause any harm to one's mental or physical health.

In conclusion, although any type of punishment is harmful to children and destroys their dignity, when choosing to criticize a child, parents should be aware of their language and avoid shouting or any kind of argument.