It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

young children’s ability of distinguishing right and wrong has been viewed as essential. I agree that this ability can be learnt with the help of punishment. However, it should never be physical.

On one hand, this question depends on the age of the child as younger child might not be mature enough to understand the idea of certain firm rules, and particular punishment might be a constructive means to achieve this goal. Without discipline, it is sometimes difficult for children to develop good habits and stay away from danger especially when the danger is not imminent. For example, forgetting to wash their hands before a meal might not make them sick right away. but bacteria, in the long run, may be harmful to their health.

As another example, teacher who applies a non-physical punishment, such as point deduction to children who have hit others, is often an effective way to teach them right and wrong, while showing children there is alternative to violence.

On the other hand, I think that as kids turn older, punishment is not necessary because they will be able to comprehend rules through verbal instruction, and gain common sense naturally for the good and the bad with the development of their brains. there is a saying “Practice what you preach”. teachers or parents should firstly perform as a good role model for young children. If parents do not practice what they preach while raising their children, their children may be confused. In other words, picking up conscience by osmosis is more effective than punishment.

In conclusion, I do agree that non-physical punishment is necessary to children at younger age. Nevertheless, for bigger children, parents and teachers should not only teach them with words but also demonstrate corresponding actions.