In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, due to the development of technology, fighting crimes has become easier and more convenient than the past. By install cameras in public places, polices can now trace the criminals and avoid violent in the society, leading to the reduction of criminal rates. However, a number of people feel that they have had less freedom since those measures are applied. In my opinion, there are more benefits than drawbacks when enclosing these methods.

On the one hand, increasing the number of cameras in public has many disadvantages. people living in that area will have the feeling of being followed and they can not have their own privacy to do what they like. Also, the government could collect the information of every citizen, which seems to violate the residents' privacy. this could be very dangerous because hacker can attack the main computers and then draw out the citizens' information for blackmail purposes. Moreover, the government can sell these files to advertising company to get money, in spite of the fact that this could put the resident in a lot of inconvenient and annoying situations.

On the other hand, the police and people have derived many benefits from these appliances. By having cameras in public places, the police can locate the criminals whenever they commit crimes. With this powerful tool, the authorities and polices could solve difficult cases and stop the criminals faster and more effectively . Besides, by collecting the citizens' information, the government could assess their behavior to have more effective policies to prevent and avoid people to embark on a life of crime.

In conclusion, despite some disadvantages, cameras are still the effective and powerful tool to help fighting crimes. In the future, these measures should be widely applied for a law-abiding society with zero crimes.