In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that this is the responsibility of ⁴governments to solve the problem. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In several regions around the world, the number of children having obesity and being unhealthy is increasing noticeably and it can result in a whale of risky diseases. Some people have a perspective that governments are responsible for solving the problem. I partly concur with this statement and then I will give my own opinion in this essay.

To begin with, the government is the supreme authority of the country who plays an important role in managing and solving several issues for the citizens consisting of curbing the obesity of children. First, the supreme authority or local authority can organize some outdoor activities and encourage the inhabitants to register to join in order to raise the awareness of residents to promote a healthy lifestyle. The typical instance for this is the National Phu Dong Sport Game, it is a competition organized by local governments to reinforce physical health and sport spirit.

Second, the governments should enact a regulation requiring food factories to reduce the amount of obesity-causing substances such as sugar and fat that can result in a whale of distinctive ailments, not only obesity. For example, consuming a huge amount of sugar can lead to heart attack which is a variation of obesity. This phenomenon is often observed in the UK where almost all people are suffering from being overweight. That is the reason why the supreme authority of a country or local should give a hand to decline the obesity issue.

In another case, the combination of parents and schools is also extremely crucial because they are people who directly contact and educate them in daily life. To talk about the parents, they play a significant role in teaching their offspring about practical knowledge including maintaining a healthy lifestyle and avoiding being obese. Taking me as a typical instance for this, my mother always reminds me not to put too much spices into the food and ensure that the amount of sugar and salt intake is moderate because my mother is afraid that my weight is increasing uncontrollably. In terms of schools, the teacher not only impart the knowledge in the textbook, but they also have to teach the student about how to keep fit and control the weight. For instance, my secondary school organizes a sports competition annually in order to encourage students to exercise regularly and raise student’s awareness about preventing themselves from being overweight.

In conclusion, the government plays a critical role in mitigating the issues of obesity and poor health among children, but family involvement is equally essential.