In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that this is the responsibility of governments to solve the problem. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the development of living standards, the number of children who are obese has increased significantly these days. Some people insist that it is the authorities’ responsibility to alleviate. From my perspective, I strongly support this statement; however, I do believe that parental roles have played as important as governments, and so do schools. My agreement and the elaboration thereof will be substantiated below.

Honestly, the more modern the country is, the more unhealthy foods are consumed. First and foremost, employees have succumbed to the daunting workload that makes them busier and leaves them with no time to take care of their offspring. Thus, processed food is the ideal meal for them thanks to its convenience as well as its unaffordable price that gets children to be overweight after a long time of eating. For instance, the boy whose parents work from the break of dawn to midnight has a tendency to become fatter than the kids who do not, as his father will order any meals that contain unhealthy nutrients with high calories for him to take away. As a result, to avoid the kids becoming obese, both schools and parents had to better educate them on a basic healthy lifestyle and the consequences of being overweight, such as heart diseases, diabetes, etc. If home-cooked meals are used, the number of obese individuals at an early age will be reduced.

In terms of the government’s role in solving this problem, there are various solutions for kids to overcome. Imposing a heavy tax is one reasonable way to prevent children from being unhealthy. If the company can not afford the tax, fewer fast foods are produced and consumed as well. Moreover, the government should also provide their citizens with a range of outdoor activities and competitions to encourage them to be more active during the day instead of playing video games. Last but not least, the children ought to be balanced between studying and holidays. According to scientific research, if individuals feel unsatisfied in their lives, they intend to binge eat, which has a negative impact on a healthy diet.

In conclusion, reducing the rate of obesity among children is a responsibility of the governmental and local authorities. I believe that if the government takes more account of this issue, the kids will overcome and pick up the habits to have a balanced life.