In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Poor student behaviour seems to be an increasingly widespread and I think that modern lifestyles are probably responsible for this.

In many countries, the birth rate is decreasing so that families are smaller with fewer children. These children are often spoilt, not in terms of love and attention because working parents do not have the time for this, but in more material ways. They are allowed to have whatever they want, regardless of price, and to behave as they please. This means that the children grow up without consideration for others and without any understanding of where their standard of living comes from.

When they get to school age they have not learnt any self control or discipline. They have less respect for their teachers and retuse to obey school rules in the way that their parents did.

Teachers continually complain about this problem and measures should be taken to combat the situation. But I think the solution to the problem lies with the families, who need to be more aware of the future consequences of spoiling their children. If they could raise them to be considerate of others and to be social, responsible individuals, the whole community would benefit.

Perhaps parenting classes are needed to help to do this, and high quality nursery schools could be established that would support families more in terms of raising the next generation. The government should fund this kind of parental support. because this is no longer a problem for individual families, but for society as a whole.