In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Few people paid enormous sums of money in many nations. Some people believe that the more high salaries workers could have, the more benefits the countries may have. In contrast, others think that governments should restrict incomes to a certain level. In this essay, both views will be discussed and elaborate on my opinion.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some individuals support the difference in salaries of employees. First of all, highly educated people had invested too much time in acquiring knowledge and education will always ask for higher pay, such as scientists, engineers, and medical experts.

For example, a leader in a technology project needs not only savvy programming skills but also excellent project management skills to maneuver his team to the final impeccable product. Therefore, they should be paid higher than those who only focus on the smaller scope of work. Besides, a lucrative income is compensation due to their effort and long working hours. Secondly, societies would be more prosperous if one person could earn more since there would be a significant rise in the amount of taxes paid by people with higher salaries. Consequently, citizens' quality of life would increase dramatically, especially in health and education.

On the other hand, it is argued by many that the increasing income gap should be restricted, and the authorities should have a system to keep control of the salaries. Furthermore, those individuals believe it is unfair that some workers earn exorbitant wages, while others could not cover their daily needs. Another reason I would consider is, in certain countries, the discrimination of sex, nationality, and skin color via the sums of money they earn may underline social equality, which eventually ruins the civilized worlds we have striving to foster for decades. For instance, people in developing countries have to travel to other regions to find a job so they would be employed even with a low income. Meanwhile, citizens would not find opportunities to be employed. As a result, this could increase the gap between privileged and non-privileged people.

In conclusion, although a majority of people believe that policymakers should impose restrictions on the income gap between employees, In my opinion, I would argue that people should earn their money based on their competence and merit.