In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the gap between the privilege and the under-privilege has been increasingly widened, opinions are divided between whether this trend might lead to social advantages or disadvantages. Since there are two sides to every coin, this essay will give reasons for both views, as well as arguing that there are consequences related to this development.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that individuals with high networths are likely to contribute back to the society. Fundings and charities have been founded to assist financially all sectors of the economy from wealthy philanthropists. Bill Gates had set up Gates Foundation in order to give scholarships to well-rounded but less fortunate students. When it comes to a more indirect assistance, investments from these affluent individuals in technology would advance the humankind as a whole. A prime example of this is Elon Musk, who funded billions of dollars to his own Space X project with the purpose of transporting human to Mars in the near future.

On the flip side, I firmly believe that if governments do not have laws to set limit on one's salaries, societies would be increasingly lack of social mobility, which means the ability to move up or down different social classes. This issue could potentially lead to social unrest, since many, especially people in poverty, do not have a chance to alter their own living conditions. As education is a key to success, it is absolutely unfair when students who comes from poverty-striken families, for instance, got denied by private universities simply because they only accept pupils whose parents have enough power and fundings to buy their ways in.

To conclude, although people who constantly make six-figures and above could be helpful to societies, I am convinced that this phenomenon would lead to unfairness.