In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

The emergence of single-person households and nuclear families over large, extended families is a dominant trend all over the world nowadays, especially in big cities. Personally, I completely argue that this trend would bring negative influences on society.

On the one hand, living alone or living in small family units can be deemed advantageous and necessary for some reasons. It can provide people a comfortable environment as they wish since whatever they do does not influence others and vice versa. For example, different generations want different things and many young people do not wish to live the traditional lifestyles of their parents and grandparents. As a result, living alone allows them the freedom to do as they please without having to face constant judgment or criticism. In addition, as people easily move to other cities or countries for a better working environment and chances in career, smaller family units are better to move and live together in different situations.

However, this trend also brings several drawbacks. Firstly, small family units mean less family support in many situations. For example, young people can more easily get financial aid from their adults or grandparents when living together and have less burden in managing the budgets of their own apartment rents or living expenses. Moreover, many societies consider it to be crucial that youngsters learn the family tradition or certain manners from the adults in the family. Secondly, as parents and grandparents get older, they may face a number of physical and mental health problems, and by living alone, they may lack the care and attention they need from their children. Finally, living alone, or in small family groups can lead to poor family bonds between generations.

In conclusion, I believe that while living alone or in a nuclear family is somewhat beneficial, it has more negative influences on the family bonds and leaves people susceptible to many potential risks.