Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?Do you agree or disagree?

A large quantity of health issues are caused by the consumption of sugary foodstuffs, hence, some people believe that an increase in price will contribute to a reduction in the use of those products. However, from my perspective, this idea may cause several disadvantages to the residents in many aspects.

Food or drink containing high levels of sugar still benefits people in need to a certain extent. These groups have high demands of sugar consumption to satisfy their current demands. Therefore, approaching these kinds of products will become challenging because they have to pay a higher expense, which may result in social inequality. For instance, people suffering from hypoglycemia may use sugary products as a therapy to relieve the situation, and raising the price of those can breed heavier expenditure burden on these people. Products consisting of sugar can also be a quick and ideal method to recharge the energy in a speedy way to certain individuals, especially those who are skinny or malnourished, which still account for a large part off population in some nations.

Implementing a price growth in the area of sugary products can engender the rise in sugar cost, which may also negatively affect people economically. Sugar is a vital substance in every dish and a climb in this sector can lead to inflation, which is considered enemy in most of the strategies of economies in the world. A case in point is that, when sugar cost increases, the expense people have to spend on meals also soars up, and this is a contributor to the currency devaluation.

All in all, in spite of posing certain risks to the healthiness, I am not an advocate of the idea that people render the price of sugary products more costly due to the aforementioned reasons above.