Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the museums attract a huge number of people come to visit, this puts the museum in overload situation and raises an issue of operation management, quality maintenance and improvement then budget is the most important thing need to be carried on. Beside sponsorships, some museums also charge for entrance fee of visitors, while the others one don’t. This essay will share reason to analyse pros and cons of charging people for entrance fee then come to an reasonable conclusion.

The obvious reasons that museums also need budget for operation and charging people for entrance fee is one of the ways. This is reasonable when people contribute for the museums to maintain, improve properties which they admire. This will make visitors appreciate and eager to protect properties. There are so many museums in the world charge for entrance fee and bring a good service that satisfy visitors.

The opposed to this say that it may lessen the number of visitors because of those people are not willing to pay for the fee. They formed in their mind that public constructions should be free but they forget that it also need people to manage, organize to maintain or even improve the quality, service year over year for them to visit.

On balance, to satisfy the objective of budgeting for operation cost but won’t lose the visitor number, the museums should be encouraged to charge for entrance fee but the range should be reasonable and affordable for mass audience.