Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Nowadays, an increase in transportation needs cause a pressure on government to improve and develop the public transportation and its infrastructure. Whether the government ought to use national budget on developing train and subway lines or developing more and wider roads has been a debatable topic. I personally think an investment on train and subway lines is a good solution in long-term to reduce traffic congestion.

On one side of the argument, there are people who believe that government should invest on developing more and wider roads. These people generally state that opening more and make wider roads will solve the traffic congestion of a huge number of automobile. According to these people, public transportation is not convenient for individual needs.

I would be inclined to argue against this as I believe that public transportation is the best solution in long-term. There are many reasons that lead me to believe this. Firstly, train & subway open new and different routes, which are overhead and underground, with fast speed help reduce transportations on ground therefor reduce traffic jams. Secondly, it is also known that developing roads may affect the current active roads and leads to an overloads on them while developing train and subway lines will avoid stopping vehicle on any active roads then cause no inconveniences and affecting on current working routes.

To sum up, there are strong arguments for and against developing more and wider roads. As has been proven above there are certainly pros to develop roads. Nevertheless, I maintain my original opinion that opening new train and subway lines is the best solution in long term to solve traffic congestion.