Many sports players are advertised in sports products. Do you think advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no gainsaying the fact that an increasing number of sportspersons are endorsing a bunch of sports products these days. In my opinion, while there are certain drawbacks of this trend, I personally feel that its benefits far outweigh these drawbacks.

At the outset, the most obvious disadvantage of marketing sports products with the help of sports players is that the small-scale businesses usually struggle to compete with the large-scale businesses in the market. This is mainly because the prominent sportsperson endorsement is extremely expensive, and majority of the large-scale businesses have the marketing budget to afford it. However, almost all the small-scale business cannot pay a hefty amount of payments to sports players to advertise their products, and their products, in spite of good quality, fail to attract enough buyers.

Despite the disadvantage mentioned above, I believe that the trend of sportsperson endorsement for sports products promotion is more advantageous. The biggest advantage of this trend is that it helps to promote the idea of participating in various games. What I mean by this is that if an athlete appears in any advertisement of any sport product, more and more people tend to buy that product and they are motivated to play sports. Another considerable advantage of this trend is that it motivates other players to perform better. When companies pay a handsome amount of money to the players who are famous because of their performances, other players who are playing same sports will feel motivated, and they will try to perform better so that they can also attract other companies for endorsement.

In conclusion, I recognize the possible demerit of making sports players to promote sports products, but it seems to me that we gain more than we lose from this trend.