Many young people today change their jobs or careers every few years. More advantages than disadvantages?

It is true that a number of the young generations jump off to other occupations or careers each few years. Although many drawbacks can be seen in finding new jobs, the benefits in a higher salary as well as diverse ones’ experience may outweigh these demerits.

On the one hand, there are two main disadvantages of changing jobs from time to time. First and foremost is the risk of an unstable source of income. As people change jobs, whether for a decent income or the opportunities to stay near their hometown, it is not guaranteed that the job will provide a sufficient salary as well as an opportunity for promotion since they were proved to be not committed to their former careers. Consequently, finances may become a heavy burden for young people. Furthermore, there is risk of being replaced. Youngsters who jumps in different jobs may lacks in deep understanding of one professionals, which may be replaced by another employee with abundant experience and an insightful knowledge of their specialization. A veteran who has a PhD and years of experience may be prioritized over other candidates, can be taken as a good example.

On the other hand, I believe the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, they may have the opportunities to raise their wages faster than the loyal employees. As they get more experienced in their field of working, young people have the privilege to negotiate for higher salaries at a new workplace as they know what is needed to provide for the employer. Due to a prominent survey, an average raise of 5 percent in salary for each job in the same field people change. Secondly, changing jobs or career brings huge opportunities to diversify your experience. As many scholars believe that knowledge is power, having a wide-range of insight is a powerful key to bring new innovative ideas and special views which may benefit the young generations in many ways. Consequently, they may have the chance to become successful both mentally and materially.

In conclusion, despite the risk of having an unstable wage and being easily replaced, the opportunities in having a higher income and widening the knowledge has outweighed the demerits.