The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Media has become a particularly important role in human lives recently since it provides people with both national and international updated news. There is an argument that the media should broadcast more good news than bad ones. However, I partly agree with this statement since people need to know not only good things happened but also dark sides of daily lives.

Good stories are essential to carry among hundreds of celebrities’ scandals because they have positive impacts on people. Firstly, good news assists in educating citizens, especially the youth. In fact, watching or listening to a piece of news about people helping each other or people’s achievements helps the young behave more morally and live better lives since they believe that there are still good things happened daily outside. Secondly, people should be informed of new breakthroughs or discoveries which have a significantly good influence on society. For example, hardly is a superstar’s scandal more valuable than the announcement of a new treatment for cancer. Therefore, it is necessary to report good stories on TVs, radios, newspaper, and the Internet as well.

However, it is misguided to restrict the broadcast of tragic news since people have the right to catch up with unfortunate things happened around the world. Civil wars, natural disasters, diseases, accidents and the like may sadden viewers, but they are the reality of today lives. People should keep abreast of these events to have a general knowledge of temporary issues. Moreover, the environment is severely affected by human activities. Consequently, showing news about climate change, soil degradation, endangered animals and pollution takes a great part in warning them that the environment is worse and worse.

From all the above-mentioned, I do believe that both good and bad messages should be shown equally to provide people with a thorough view of what is happening every day. Citizens should absorb the news wisely to gain benefit and protect themselves from unrealistic information.