Missions to explore space are hugely expensive, and there are problems on Earth which demand attention. The number of these missions needs to be reduced.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

There is a common belief that space-exploring operations are excessively lavish, especially in the context that there is a variety of different earthy issues that need to be taken into consideration. Hence, the advocates of this idea claim that it is imperative to cut down on the number of delving into the space. From my point of view, I found no justification to agree with this irrational statement since space expeditions may play an essential role in dealing with our planet's problems, namely environmental pollution and natural resource depletion.

First and foremost, commissions to discover the universe may open up a solution to the problem of environmental pollution. It is worth pointing out that the degradation of the Earth's ecosystem is a consequence of overpopulation. By the way of exemplifying, the soaring of the global population is synonymous with the increasing demand for comestibles. Such necessity can be met through more intensive farming with the overuse of agrochemicals or through deforestation to create new farmlands, which in turn can have negative ecological outcomes. Then, by exploring outer space, mankind may have an opportunity to discover a habitable place to immigrate. This will consequently solve the matter of overpopulation and indirectly solves the interrelated environmental issues.

In the second place, space exploration missions can also make a contribution to finding an answer to the shortage of natural resources. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that the resources that are scarce on earth can be abundant on another planet. Then, the duty of space probing activities is to lay hands on such heavenly bodies, thereby creating a premise for space mining. For instance, celestial bodies in the solar system are potential sources for “rare earth” metals required for electronics, which consists of 17 elements, including lanthanum, neodymium, and yttrium, to mention but a few.

From these aforementioned explanations, one could draw the conclusion that the argument for reducing the number of missions to explore space is preposterous as inquiring closely into space is the indirect solution to environmental pollution as it solves the overpopulation. Moreover, such missions are against natural resource depletion through mining other planets and asteroids in the solar system