Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is worth pointing out that tariffs or otherwise known as specific excises on food imported from foreign countries are being imposed by most nations in order to protect their domestic farmers. Then, a common belief about these policies is that tariffs are essential and should be put into effect as soon as achievable. From my point of view, the advantages of additional charges on foreign foodstuffs are irrefutable. However, these imposts should be implemented in a reasonable way so as not to cause maltreatment in international trade.

On the one hand, there is a variety of justification to advocate imposing tariffs. For a start, this type of tax is fundamental for every government to have a sustainable economy. It goes without saying that the income from imported foods will eventually return to pay taxes ịn the host country and the importing country benefits very little from these payments. Consequently, it would contribute to massive economic losses and to prevent this from happening, protective tariffs in an attempt to shieldguard the domestic sector against the massive inflow of international products is undoubtedly imperative. Moreover, without governmental patronage, domestic breeders and growers are no match for their international counterparts and will end up giving up on farming. This will be a true catastrophe due to the fact that the corresponding country will not be self-sufficient to produce its own food, especially during wartime.

Nevertheless, special taxes or other added expenses on imported foods should be carried out in a careful and equitable way. First and foremost, it is necessary for protective tariffs to be based on the interests of both exporting and importing countries. If the tax rate is excessively high, exporters will gradually withdraw, resulting in the aforementioned country losing a large amount of foreign currency supply from import and export transactions. In the second place, globalization is an incredible opportunity for the consumers and irrational taxation may interfere with the legitimate rights of the citizens. By the way of exemplifying, that each country has its own unique foods, creating diversity in the global cuisine. Therefore, extreme charges can keep these foods out of the hands of the most population, thereafter limiting their food choices.

In conclusion, the advantageous aspects of protective tariffs are irrefutable as they maintain an imperishable economy and ensure one nation can be self-supply with food. However, these additional taxes should be implemented in a careful and equitable way as excessively high charges may result in the withdrawal of food exporters and the importing country's residents will not benefit from globalization