Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or a negative development ?

There is no denying that with the rapidly innovated technology, especially the Internet, accessing or even downloading some copyrighted materials without purchasing such as music, books become much more comfortable. From my perspective, I believe that this tendency has more demerits than merits.

There are some benefits for users or listeners. One of them is that, by not being charging, the fan of books or music can have more chances to hear or read when they could not afford its fee. Indeed, the price to access these materials sometimes can be seen as a luxury for some people, particular in Africa. ‘Sci-hub.com’ is a compelling illustration in this case, which is the non-profit website for students or researchers in developing countries to download some high-cost science journals.

Apart from advantages expressed above, this trend still has a plethora of unfavorable influences on the economy. In a view about the authors, they have their rights to sell their works, which are employed as their earnings. The way of illegal copying or leaking triggers some obstacles for them to continue their works; they, therefore, are likely to leave their current jobs as writers or composers. Moreover, the suppliers of these materials are also adversely impacted on a financial basis in virtue of paying more and more money for the protection of author rights. That means, they will confront problems if their products are illegally used or copied.

To sum up, although this trend can help to access the desired artworks easily, it still contributes to the obstacle for both suppliers and authors who create genuine works.