More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons?

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, a large number of individuals have a tendency to purchase items such as clothes and cars that come from high-end brands. In the following essay, the reasons for this trend will be discussed, and, in my point of view, the merits of this phenomenon are overshadowed by the demerits.

To begin with, society has recently become more and more materialistic especially among youngsters or in other words is Gen Z. So, buying these products from highly reputed companies, say Christian Dior, Chanel is prior to reflecting weath, social status or simply appearance which means that people are having a habit of judging others by their outward show. In particular, many people are of the opinion that putting on Nike or Adidas clothes makes them more stunning and lavish than the products from smaller brands. By that way, they can get more attention from others and also acknowledge them. Furthermore, a few years ago and until now, many girls in the US particularly and in the world generally have begun to find ways to keep up with Kylie Jenner- an Instagram model who is one of the most influential figures on social media today. They are commencing to buy things which are sort of extravagant and inconsequential to their life. For that reason, some people are trapped into debt as a result of using credit cards to buy products for which they don’t actually have the money.

Having said that, it is undeniable that reputable brands offer products of high quality and reliability, providing buyers with a great sense of satisfaction. Take Apple for example, Apple’s smart phones are famous for their durability and world-class security, so, it is easy to comprehend that each sale of their products brings in millions of dollars in profit. On par with this, the more people spend, the more jobs are created. This can be a solution for countries having such a giant unemployed rate like Congo, Liberia,..

In conclusion, the growing consumption of brand name products might be explained by their luxurious appearance, uniqueness and excellent quality, and I believe that this tendency is disadvantageous to our families and society in certain important ways.