More and more people want to buy clothes, cars, and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend? (24/02/2019)

Recent decades have witnessed the mounting preference of consumers for products from famous brands. From my perspective, I espouse the notion that this phenomenon is incontrovertibly unfavorable and discuss underlying causative factors associated with it in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several rationales why big brands' goods have gained popularity. The leading culprit behind this phenomenon is to show off owners' wealth, prestige, and personal image. Indubitably, because high-end brands usually advertise their products with well-known celebrities and glamorous representatives, numerous consumers believe that luxurious and extravagant personal possessions can embellish their appearances, proportionally reflecting owners' social status and self-esteem. As a result, they are inclined to purchase these large brand goods regardless of the exorbitantly expensive cost.

On the other hand, the increasing prevalence of famous brands' products is incontrovertibly unfavorable. One of the first significant negatives is to put a heavy burden on individuals' financial resources. Irrefutably, high-end products are frequently prohibitively exorbitant; therefore, financially precarious consumers that have the desire to purchase these luxurious and deluxe goods would likely have no alternative but to allocate a considerable proportion of their disposable income to afford these extravagant ones. As a result, this will potentially heighten consumers' severe monetary pressures. Another tangible negative is that this tendency would increase the disparity and social inequality between the prosperous and the impoverished. No doubt, a volume of people these days evaluate others through their appearances, clothes, and other ornaments; therefore, in many cases, while affluent individuals are typically treated in a privileged fashion, economically disadvantaged people would likely become victims of inequitable treatment and discrimination. Consequently, this would elevate the discrepancy among social classes.

In conclusion, the increasing popularity of renowned brands has its roots in owners' desire to show their social status and personal image. I espouse the notion that this phenomenon engenders low-income consumers' elevated financial burdens and the widening gap between affluent individuals and impoverished ones.