more and more people want to buy clothes, cars, and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

Recent decades have witnessed the burgeoning number of individuals wanting to possess luxurious products from prestigious brands. From my perspective, I consider this tendency unfavourable and discuss the underlying causative factors in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several rationales why well-known brands' goods have gained popularity. One of the leading culprits is elevating personal status and image. Indubitably, when an individual wears expensively deluxe items, such as a limited-edition watch or an exclusive bracelet, in many cases, this is synonymous with the fact that they are a wealthy person; therefore, possessing expensive products from well-known brands can act as a catalyst for heightened self-esteem, which in turn could potentially signal their personal values and high-position status in society.

On the other hand, there is no denying that the spiraling volume of people allocating a considerable proportion of their disposable income to purchase luxurious goods is incontrovertibly unfavorable. The first discernible drawback is impeding social development. Irrefutably, the economically marginalized and disadvantaged might be incapable of affording cost-prohibitive clothes or deluxe ornaments; therefore, this would make these low-income people become victims of discrimination and disparity, which could potentially exacerbate the gap between the rich and the poor in society. Another disadvantage is that the burgeoning number of premium items are counterfeited. No doubt, when people are likely to purchase expensive goods from renowned brands, the demand for consuming these products would significantly increase; therefore, this will stimulate people who want to earn profits to illicitly imitate those deluxe goods, mass-producing them to a large number. As a consequence, this tendency would lead to the invincible business of counterfeit goods, posing a serious threat to consumers to accidentally purchase counterfeit and low-quality products with exorbitantly expensive costs.

In conclusion, the increasing volume of people wanting to purchase premium goods from renowned brands is to show owners' social status and personal image. From my perspective, I espouse the notion that this phenomenon would engender the widening gap between the affluent and the impoverished and the massive influx of counterfeit products.