Most Employers Nowadays Put Increasing Emphasis on Social Skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

The majority of employers expect good social skills from their employees. It is a rife belief that good qualifications along with social skills are important for success. I agree with the assertion that social skills are important for success in a job.

To commence with, social skills reflects the ability of a person to work with others in a way that strengthens long-term work relationship. Moreover, there are other social skills such as creativity, honesty, integrity, compassion which are important besides technical skills. A university degree may ensure that a person is intellectually qualified for a job, but it does not confirm the social skills of a person.

Furthermore, an employee has to work with a group of people. As humans are eclectic creatures everyone has a different emotional status. In such a situation, it becomes important for a person to be able to understand the emotion of himself as well as other people. This quality is known as emotional intelligence. Emotional intelligence is as important as intellectual qualification because it makes sure the efficient functioning of a team.

However, the importance of good qualifications cannot be undermined. University degrees might help secure jobs at the initial stage or may ensure that a person has enough skills for the job. But without emotional intelligence, such skills might not help a person in achieving success in the long run. Due to a lack of emotional control and social skills the person might end up frustrated and depressed.

In conclusion, social skills are as important as a good qualification to succeed in a job. While the qualification ensures that a person is fit for the job the social qualification ensures that a person can do the job effectively.