Nowadays both men and women spend much money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results?

In this modern era, more and more male and female expend a lot of dollars to personal care products than some decades ago. There are several causes and considerable effects that I will elaborate more below.

Regarding the causes, current employees, particularly men, carry out various treatments because each job demands them to meet beauty standards. At an earlier time, appearance and facial beauty were the last requirements in some fields which those becomes paramount in professions such as steward and male beautician. Furthermore, in favour of the reduction of fine line and wrinkles, women aged over 40 have a strong desire to be ageless and crave on compliments in public. Noticeably, South Koreans are willing to spend big-budget around $700 a month to purchase the best anti-aging products (SK II and Estee Lauder).

Turning to the effects, beauty treatment could enable modern society to notch up prospect career, even seizing greater opportunities in entertainment industry. Individuals would embark on being a skincare Brand Ambassador (Song Kang-Bobbi Brown), together with his career rocketing to fame on Netflix. On the negative side, many women are diagnosed Body Dysmorphic Disorder due to the attractiveness of reaching body perfection. Aside from the risk of chemical cosmetic ingredients (Paraben) used in years, the cutting-edge technologies of plastic surgery convince women to look like dolls, in which this possibly ends up with failure happened to Jocelyn Wildenstein dubbed catwoman.

In conclusion, the causes of excessive expenses to beauty treatments both sexes rather than few years ago are the significant job requirements as well as the flawless skin achievement. Meanwhile, the knock-on effects include fostering individuals’ future career and enduring cosmetic surgery malpractices.