Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

There is a general belief that the bonding between families is now not as strong as it was before. I believe that work pressure and mobile phone addiction are the main reasons for this issue; on the bright side, it is possible to bring families together by encouraging them to spend more time with one another.

To illustrate this, due to the increasing burden of work, it has become difficult for individuals to give the same amount of attention to their family members as they used to give. Due to the increased workload, they have to stay at work for long hours; therefore, they are unable to spend enough time with their family. In addition to this, due to the technology advancements people prefer to use social media apps, watch reels and connect to strangers over the internet instead of talking to their immediate family members. In fact, now family members rarely interact with one another and spend much of their time on their phones. For example, in olden times there was not much pressure and people used their phones only to make calls.

The first step to solving this problem is to realize that this is actually a problem. Many people are not even aware of that. They don’t find anything wrong with not talking to family. Once you are aware that you have to improve your relations, you can start working on it. There are several ways to improve bonding between family members. For example, they can make it a point to have dinner together. On the weekends, they can plan small outings with their family. If they are religious they can cultivate the habit of praying together.

In conclusion, we tend to be closer to the people we spend much of our time with. By simply finding various reasons to spend time together, families can enhance their bonding.