Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Currently, a large amount of profit comes from the international tourism makes this industry significant development. However a proportion stated that instead of connecting people around the world, travelling abroad probably creates the tension between travellers and the local citizens because of the different cultures. Personally, a partial agreement is my point of views. In this essay, evidence and information are give to clarify my position of views.

On one hand, the difference in weather, cuisine, culture… may create the level of tension when travelling abroad. Most people can not adapt the new environment immediately. As a result, the uncomfortable and anxiety feeling are likely to increase. For example, a long trip to other country has a likelihood of making travelers feel tired. Moreover, the difference cuisine might challenge the taste of visitors in the first few days as the local special foods sometimes may not easy to accept by foreigners. In addition, because of the language barrier there is a lack of understanding between local people and travelers. As a result, the tension is possible generated by the physical fatigue after a long haul flight, unsatisfactory appetite and the uncomfortable in communication.

On the other hand, travelling is considered to be one of the most enrich experiences. A trip can offer us a chance to live in an utterly new atmosphere like doing things we can not do in our daily live, eating variety of new foods, practicing new languages, understanding the local customs and practices. At the beginning, the tension might exist, but after a long period, travelers will find out the interesting part of the countries and begin to connect with local citizens by trying to share information and study the history of the destination. For example, Chinese foods might be too spicy and oily, but once visitors can handle that, the amazing dishes such as “Peking roasted duck” or “Phoenix tail shrimp” with the interesting stories behind each cuisine will be an unforgettable experience appetizing in our life.

To conclude, because of the benefit of helping people learn new knowledge and understand people, international tourism become the leading role of service industry in many countries. But to reduce the unexpected tension, travelers should prepare carefully about the knowledge of the destination.